A unique museum

From a nail was born the spectacle...
Located in Morez, the cradle of the French eyewear industry, the Musée de la Lunette (Eyewear Museum) invites visitors to discover the history of eyewear, which began in 1796 with the manufacture of a nail. Thanks to their ingenuity and know-how, the people of the Haut-Jura subsequently developed a veritable industrial sector, renowned the world over for its creativity and quality.
A collection unique in the world
The Musée de la Lunette houses the EssilorLuxottica - Pierre Marly collection, comprising more than 2,500 rare and prestigious items. Assembled by Pierre Marly, a renowned collector and optician, the collection retraces the world history of eyewear in a journey that begins in the 13th century and takes us through Europe, Asia and North America.